For the Love of Books!!

Comics I lovedMy first crush was ‘Lotpot’! Remember the Hindi comic series which introduced us to Motu Patlu, Chacha Chowdhary and Chirkut? For a long long time my literary world [if I may call it so] consisted of Lotpots and more Lotpots but that was before Archie Andrews swept me off my feet.
As the saying goes, it starts with a crush and then you fall in love, and so did I. It was love at first sight. ‘Fire burnt from its open mouth, its eyes glowed with a smouldering glare, its muzzle and hackles and dewlap were outlined in flickering flame ‘….yes it was the Hound of Baskervilles I lost my heart to and my love affair with books started.
WP_20150109_002I was in the 4th standard when I read it, a birthday gift from my Uncle and was immediately hooked. I died when Mr. Holmes did and was elated when he resurfaced rather magnificently. Sherlock Holmes to me was this tall lean man, with a long face, hollow cheeks and a receding hairline and that was one of the reasons I refused to watch Robert Downey Jr play the great detective. Even the collected works of Sherlock Holmes was bought because the sketch of the great detective on the cover came closest to my imagination.
There was a time when I had seriously considered becoming a private detective and till date try to implement Mr. Holmes ‘science of deduction’ to every other thing, though rather unsuccessfully and much to the amusement of my family and friends.
Over the years, many more books have influenced my thoughts, beliefs, opinions, style and aspirations. I recall sporting short hair throughout my school days a la George from the Famous Five by Enid Blyton or aspiring to become a lawyer because Jennifer Parker from Sydney Sheldon’s Rage of Angels was one. Even this very Blog is inspired by Leisel Memingar’s journal from the ‘Book Thief’ by Markus Zusak..And these are just a few books, I am talking about, from the scores which have touched my life.

WP_20150109_004          SS            WP_20150109_006

I am sure I wouldn’t be  wrong in saying that for all those who love books, they are much more than just a story. They are a part of what we are, what we do and what we believe. It is this Journey that I wish to explore through Bookhippo.
Every week, I will review an assorted bag of books across genres, including Indian authors and translations and  together we shall embark on a splendid journey, you, me and our little “affair” with books.
So to start with tell me how did your affair with books begin?
Leave a Reply

