My Favourite Things

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens
Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens
Brown paper packages tied up with strings
These are a few of my favorite things’

Haven’t most of us grown up humming this?  And like Maria says in the movie, this song never fails to put a smile on my lips.

Sound_of_musicThe Sound of Music, remains one of my most favourite movies of all times and I am sure I am not the only one. 51 years after its release the free spirited Maria, the naughty but wonderful Liesl, Friedrick, Louisa, Kurt, Brigitta, Marta and Gretl and the handsome Captain Trapp continue to make us fall in love with them again and again.

Remember Maria’s utter shock when the children march down to meet her at the sound of the Captain’s [Oh! And isn’t he just so cute?] whistle or when Maria dances with the Captain and the breaks away saying she does not remember anymore?  Or that legendary gazebo, where they confess to loving each other

‘For here you are
standing there
loving me
Whether or not you should’

I couldn’t help feel emotional when Lady Gaga paid a tribute to the movie at the Oscars last year. I can’t help but hum the songs of the movie to my toddler and you can imagine my happiness when I hear him jumping around the house singing ‘Do-Re-Mi’

Presentation1And in case you are wondering how The Sound of Music qualifies to be in a Book Blog, that’s because, I just downloaded the story which inspired the movie. The Story of the Trapp Family Singers by the real Maria Augusta Von Trapp.

So while I read the book and come back with my thoughts on it, you go catch the movie for the umpteenth timeJ

One thought on “My Favourite Things

Leave a Reply

