Vagabond – He who is free!

StevensonHave you read the Vagabond by R. L Stevenson? Most likely you have. After all R. L Stevenson has been a huge part of all our childhoods, Treasure Island, Kidnapped!

Vagabond always however makes me wonder, if it is truly possible to be so detached. Not only does Stevenson reject worldly comforts

‘Wealth I seek not, hope nor love,
Nor a friend to know me’

He isn’t even afraid of death

‘Let the blow fall soon or late,
Let what will be o’er me’

He wishes for a simple life which is close to nature, where joy is not bound by the shackles of a man’s status and relations, where sorrow is not the end of life

‘Not to autumn will I yield,
Not to winter even!’

A free heart in a free world

‘All I ask, the heaven above
And the road below me
.’

Leave a Reply

